Skip to Main Content

Chicago Referencing

Citing journal articles

  • In a footnote, cite specific page numbers.
  • In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article.
  • For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
  • The title of the journal is italicised. 

Elements of footnote:

Author (First Name/s Family Name), “Title of article,” Title of Journal volume number, issue number (year): page number(s), DOI/URL/Database name.

Footnote:

9 Kriston Rennie, "The Normative Character of Monastic Exemption in the Early Medieval Latin West," Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 71, https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61

Subsequent Notes:

10 Kriston, "The normative character": 74

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author (Family Name, First Name/s). "Title of article." Title of Journal  Volume, issue, (year): Page number(s), DOI/URL/Database name.

Bibliography entry:

Rennie, Kriston R. "The Normative Character of Monastic Exemption in the Early Medieval Latin West." Medieval Worlds Volume 6, (2017): 61-77. https://doi.org/10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61.

Elements of footnote:

Author 1 (First Name/s Family Name), Author 2, and Author 3, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal volume number, issue number (year): page number(s), DOI/URL/Database name.

Footnote:

8 Wenhao Wu and Qi He, "The Roles of Moral Disengagement and Learned Helplessness Towards International Postgraduate Students’ Academic Procrastination," Psychology Research and Behavior Management 15, no.10 (2022): 1092 https://doi.org/10.2147/PRBM.S343135,

Subsequent Notes:

9 Wu and He, "The Roles of Moral," 1098.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author 1 (Family Name, First Name/s), Author 2, and Author 3. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal volume number, issue number (year): page number(s).

Bibliography entry:

Wu, Wenhao, and Qi He. "The Roles of Moral Disengagement and Learned Helplessness Towards International Postgraduate Students’ Academic Procrastination." Psychology Research and Behavior Management 15 (2022): 1085-1104. https://doi.org/10.2147/PRBM.S343135.

Note:

  • When there is more than one author the bibliography entry lists the first author as (Family name, first name) and all other authors as (First name Family name)

Elements of footnote:

Author 1 (First Name/s Family Name) et al., “Title of Article,” Title of Journal volume number, issue number (year): page number(s), DOI/URL/Database name.

Footnote:

14 Kai Whiting et al., "Illumination as a Material Service: A Comparison Between Ancient Rome and Early 19th Century London," Ecological Economics 169, no.1 (2020): 22, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolecon.2019.106502.

Subsequent Notes:

15 Whiting et al., "Illumination as a material," 28.

Elements of bibliography entry:

Author 1 (Family Name, First Name/s), Author 2, Author 3, and Author 4. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal volume number, issue number (year): page number(s). DOI/URL/Database name.

Bibliography entry:

Whiting, Kai, Luis Gabriel Carmona, Lina Brand-Correa, and Edward Simpson. "Illumination as a Material Service: A Comparison between Ancient Rome and Early 19th Century London." Ecological Economics 169, no.1 (2020): 18-46. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolecon.2019.106502.

Note:

  • When a journal article has 4 or more authors, list only the first author followed by et al. in footnotes. List all for up to 10 authors in bibliography; if there are more than 10 authors, list the first 7 followed by et al. 
  • When there is more than one author the bibliography entry lists the first author as (Family name, first name) and all other authors as (First name Family name)