Skip to Main Content

Vancouver Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citation generators

A citation generator is a tool that can create a citation for a bibliography or reference list, allowing you to copy and paste it into your assignment.

Important iconOnce you have created a citation you always need to cross-check with the Referencing guide to confirm everything is correct before you submit the assignment.

  • Library MultiSearch can generate citations for styles including AGLC4, APA 7, Chicago17, IEEE and Vancouver.
  • Click on the "Citation" link underneath a result.

           

  • Important iconIn MultiSearch, journals' names are not abbreviated, you can find the abbreviations by using Journal abbreviations resources. 

Some databases generate citation details for search results that you can copy and paste into your assignment. Including:

  • EBSCOhost databases
  • EBSCOhost databases can generate citations for ABNT, AMA11,  APA7, Chicago17, Harvard, MLA9 and Vancouver styles.
  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment

           

  • ProQuest databases
  • ProQuest databases can generate citations for APA6, APA7, Chicago, Harvard and MLA7 styles.
  • Click on the "Cite" link on the right hand side of a result.
  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment

          

      

  • Google Scholar can generate citations for MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard and Vancouver styles.
  • Click on the "Cite" link underneath a result.

          

  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment.

All bibliographic referencing software are citation generators. You can either build them up or export them from databases or websites.

MQ Library supports EndNote and has guides on Mendeley and Zotero.

Other MQ resources

StudyWISE iLearn unit is a toolbox to help students develop research skills, academic writing skills and more. 

Learn the what, why and how of referencing in the Reference and cite effectively and correctly section (under The assignment process).

Check out a wide range of on-demand workshops, including Referencing Essentials and APA style. Created by Academic Success and Library.

Talk over an assignment with the Academic Success team or submit your writing to Studiosity.

Find out about Library resources and services:

 

Talk over an assignment with the Academic Success team or submit your writing to Studiosity: