Skip to main content

MultiSearch

Finding a journal article by title

If you know the details of the article you are trying to find you can search for this in MultiSearch by either entering the full title of the article, partial title or a combination of title and author.

Select the relevant article from your results list to open the record. Here you will find which database you can access the article from. Sometimes the journal article will be in multiple databases, so you can either select the first on the list or choose another database to access it from.

Finding journal articles on a topic

MultiSearch allows you to search by title, keywords and author names. If you are trying to find articles on a particular topic you can try the following:

  • Enter your keywords into the search bar and run your search
  • On the search results page, select Articles under Resource Type from the filters in the left-hand column. If you are wanting peer-reviewed journal articles only, then select this option under Availability
  • There are other filters to help refine your search. For example, you could try one of the subject filters to help find more relevant results or change the date range if you are looking for more recent articles
  • If you are wanting to further refine your search by adding or removing search terms, but keep the filters you have chosen, you can click on the padlock next to the filter name to lock the ones you would like to keep. 

 

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

What is peer review?

Peer review is a formal process whereby articles are submitted for scrutiny and appraisal by recognised academics or authorities in the appropriate field. These academics or experts may recommend that the paper be accepted as it stands, or that specific revisions be made, or that the paper be rejected for publication. This process of refereeing is known as peer review.

Why are peer reviewed journal articles important?

Peer reviewed articles are authoritative because they have been assessed prior to publication by specialists or experts within academic and/or industry fields.

How to determine if an article is peer reviewed.

You can check if an article is from a peer reviewed journal using Ulrichsweb global serials directory.  Search for a journal's name to see details about the journal including whether it is peer reviewed/refereed.

MultiSearch and specific databases often allow you to search for peer reviewed journal articles however they are not always accurate.

You should always use Ulrichsweb to check a journal's peer reviewed status as it is the most reliable source for this information.

Using Ulrichsweb global serials directory:

  1. Use the Databases tab of MultiSearch
  2. Type Ulrichsweb in the Simple Search box and click Search
  3. Use the links under View Online to access the database.

Refereed items are marked with an icon  which is a representation of a 'referees shirt'.