Skip to main content

MultiSearch

Library services & COVID19

From Thursday, July 1, the Library will implement a “Click & Collect” service to allow MQ staff and students access to physical items from our main collections. Library users can request items from MultiSearch, and collect them from the Collection desk in the library after receiving a confirmation email. Please note that special collections, such as Brunner, will not be available to request.

Item collection is available only on Weekdays 10am-2pm and Weekends 1pm-5pm

Please visit the Library website for more details about the library services whilst the building is closed.  

Getting Started with MultiSearch

For quick access to the Library's collections and online resources, start your search using the Search Box on the Library home page.

Use the search box to quickly search for resources using the options on the drop-down menu, or to search for a journal or database by title, sign-in to MyLibrary, or access Google Scholar @MQ.

 

Click MultiSearch to go to the MultiSearch homepage.

Constructing your search

Type the words that you are looking for in the search box and click the Search button. If you enter multiple words, MultiSearch will return results that contain all of the words you entered.

 

Tip Looks Like Example Explanation
Alternative Spellings N/A - this happens automatically organisational behaviour This search will return results that include the alternative spelling, organizational behavior.
Exact Search " " "organisational behaviour" This search will NOT return results that include the alternative spelling, organizational behavior. It is only searching for the exact terms you entered. 
Wildcards ? or *

wom?n

cultur*

The ? can be used to do a wildcard search on a single letter. It will return results that contain women and woman, etc. 

The * can be used to search for multiple letters. It will return results that contain culture, cultural, cultures, etc. 

Grouping ( ) children AND (pets OR animals) Parentheses can be used to clarify the precedence of the operators used in the search string. This example will return results related to 'children and pets' or 'children and animals'. 

MultiSearch

MultiSearch  

Signing in to MultiSearch

MultiSearch is a single search interface that provides access to a large majority of Library resources. It works best when you are signed in. 

It includes:

  • books 
  • journals 
  • unit readings & exams
  • content within databases 
  • & much more

Some of these results will not show unless you have signed in before you start your search. Also, not everything can be indexed and included in MultiSearch so for comprehensive coverage of a topic you may also need to search in a specific database. 

If you are signed in and your session is inactive for 30 minutes or more, MultiSearch will log you out. To ensure you can retrieve your search results, make use of the Saved Searches functionality. 

Click MyLibrary to sign in.

Library services & COVID19

For updates to Library services during COVID-19 please visit the Library website.

Library self-service message