Skip to main content

MultiSearch

Library services & COVID19

From Thursday, July 1, the Library will implement a “Click & Collect” service to allow MQ staff and students access to physical items from our main collections. Library users can request items from MultiSearch, and collect them from the Collection desk in the library after receiving a confirmation email. Please note that special collections, such as Brunner, will not be available to request.

Item collection is available only on Weekdays 10am-2pm and Weekends 1pm-5pm

Please visit the Library website for more details about the library services whilst the building is closed.  

When will I need to request an item?

If the MultiSearch record says  Full-text available, Online access or Download PDF then you will likely have instant access to the item from your desktop. 

If the record says:  

  • Macquarie University Library Level 1 / Level 2,  

  • Automated Retrieval Collection,  

  • On loan (Check availability),  

then you will need to request the item using the Click & Collect service. Please see further instructions below on obtaining copies of physical items whilst the library building is closed. 

How do I request an item?

If you find an item in MultiSearch with a record that says available at Macquarie University Library Level 1 / Level 2 or Automated Retrieval Collection then you will need to place a request for the item, and then collect it through the Click & Collect service. 

To place a request you need to be signed in to MultiSearch, and then click Request under Get It.

A window will appear asking that you fill out details for your request. If you do not need the item after a particular date please specify this date, otherwise click the Request button.

You should now receive a message that your request has been placed.

How will I know the item is available? You will be sent an email when the item is available.

Where will I be able to collect the item from? Items can be collected from the Collection desk inside the Library entrance on Level 2.

Click & Collect item collection is available only on Weekdays 10am-2pm and Weekends 1pm-5pm

Please visit the Library website for more details about the library services whilst the building is closed.  

 

If you find an item in MultiSearch with a record that says Check availability, this usually means that the item is out on loan and you will need to place a request if you want to borrow the item. 

To place a request you need to be signed in to MultiSearch, and then click on Request under Get It.

 

A window will appear asking that you fill out details for your request. If you do not need the item after a particular date please specify this date, otherwise click the Send Request button.

You should now receive a message that your request has been placed.

How long will it take before I get the item? The current borrower is sent a recall notice and is given a two week timeframe to return the item. Providing that you are the first person on the waiting list it will likely take two weeks, but it could take longer if the item is not returned by the due date.

How will I know the item is available? You will be sent an email when the item is available.

Where will I be able to collect the item from? Items can be collected from the Collection desk inside the Library entrance on Level 2.

Click & Collect item collection is available only on Weekdays 10am-2pm and Weekends 1pm-5pm

Please visit the Library website for more details about the library services whilst the building is closed.  

Interlibrary loans

An Interlibrary loan can be requested if the Library does not hold a resource. 

Macquarie University staff and postgraduate students are eligible to use the Interlibrary loan service.

For more information please visit the Library's Interlibrary loans webpage.

Recommend an item

MQ staff and students can request that an item, such as a book or DVD, is purchased for the Library collection. Requests can be made using the Book purchase request form.

Distance education service

The Library provides resource delivery services to distance education students living outside the Sydney metropolitan area.

For information on:

  • Borrowing from the Library collection
  • Requesting copies of articles and chapters in the collection, or
  • Requesting interlibrary loans (for staff and postgraduate students only)

please visit the Library's Distance education service webpage.