Skip to main content

MultiSearch

When will I need to request an item?

For many of the records found in MultiSearch you will be able to access the item straight away. If the record says  Full-text available, Online access or Download PDF then you will likely have instant access to the item from your desktop.

If the record says the item is Available at Macquarie University Library Level 1 / Level 2, and when you open the record it says Item in place, then you will be able to retrieve the item from the shelf in the Library.

If the record says that the item is in the Automated Retrieval Collection or the record says Check availability then you will need to request the item.

How do I request an item?

If you find an item in MultiSearch with a record that says Check availability, this usually means that the item is out on loan and you will need to place a request if you want to borrow the item. 

To place a request you need to be signed in to MultiSearch, and then click on Request under Get It.

When the record says 'check availability' select 'request' to place a hold on the item

 

A window will appear asking that you fill out details for your request. If you do not need the item after a particular date please specify this date, otherwise click the Request button.

You should now receive a message that your request has been placed.

 

How long will it take before I get the item? The current borrower is sent a recall notice and is given a two week timeframe to return the item. Providing that you are the first person on the waiting list it will likely take two weeks, but it could take longer if the item is not returned by the due date.

How will I know the item is available? You will be sent an email when the item is available.

Where will I be able to collect the item from? You can collect your item from the Collection Desk on Level 2 (Library entrance level) - see the email for location details. 

If you find an item in MultiSearch with a record that says Automated Retrieval Collection, this means that the item is held in the Library’s automated storage and retrieval system and you will need to place a request if you want to borrow the item. 

To place a request you need to be signed in to MultiSearch, and then click Request under Get It.

Automatic retrieval collection - check details then place request

A window will appear asking that you fill out details for your request. If you do not need the item after a particular date please specify this date, otherwise click the Request button.

Automatic retrieval collection - check details then place request

You should now receive a message that your request has been placed.

 

How will I know the item is available? You will be sent an email when the item is available.

Where will I be able to collect the item from? You can collect your item from the Collection Desk on Level 2 (Library entrance level) - see the email for location details. 

Interlibrary loans

An Interlibrary loan can be requested if the Library does not hold a resource. 

Macquarie University staff, postgraduate students and Honours students are eligible to use the Interlibrary loan service.

For more information please visit the Library's Interlibrary loans webpage.

Recommend an item

MQ staff and students can request that an item, such as a book or DVD, is purchased for the Library collection. Requests can be made using the Book purchase request form.

Distance education service

The Library provides resource delivery services to distance education students living outside the Sydney metropolitan area.

For information on:

  • Borrowing from the Library collection
  • Requesting copies of articles and chapters in the collection, or
  • Requesting interlibrary loans (for staff, postgraduate students and Honours students only)

please visit the Library's Distance education service webpage.