Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Referencing

Instructions and links for Referencing support

Citation generators

A citation generator is a tool that can format a citation (reference) for a bibliography or reference list, allowing you to copy and paste it into your assignment.

Some citation generators have more functionalities than others. For example Endnote, Mendeley and Zotero have more functionalities than the citation generator available in MultiSearch.

Important iconOnce you have created a citation you always need to cross-check with the Referencing Guide to confirm everything is correct before you submit the assignment.

Library MultiSearch can generate citations for styles including AGLC4, APA 7, Chicago17, IEEE and Vancouver.

  • Click on the "Copy citation to clipboard" link underneath a result.

           

  • Check the formatting of the citation against your referencing guide to make sure all elements are correct.
  • Copy and paste the citation into your assignment.
  • Google Scholar can generate citations for MLA, APA, Chicago, and Vancouver styles.
  • Click on the "Cite" link underneath a result.

          

  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment.

Some databases generate citation details for search results that you can copy and paste into your assignment. Including:

  • EBSCOhost databases
  • EBSCOhost databases can generate citations for ABNT, AMA11,  APA7, Chicago17, MLA9 and Vancouver styles.
  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment

           

  • ProQuest databases
  • ProQuest databases can generate citations for APA6, APA7, Chicago, and MLA7 styles.
  • Click on the "Cite" link on the right hand side of a result.
  • Check then copy and paste a formatted citation into your assignment

          

      

All bibliographic referencing software programs are citation generators. You can either build citations up from information in the source, or export citations from databases or websites.

MQ Library supports EndNote and has guides on Mendeley and Zotero.

Check their details here:

EndNote for Mac

EndNote for Windows

Mendeley

Zotero

  • All generative AI tools may have drawbacks such as providing inaccurate information, bias, use of your personal data. Use the Referencing Guides to check the accuracy of the reference generated.
  • In each unit you are taking, read the assessment instructions and guidelines to understand what artificial intelligence (AI) tools you can and cannot use. Check with your lecturer or tutor if you are not sure.

 

Other MQ resources

StudyWISE iLearn unit is a toolbox to help students develop research skills, academic writing skills and more. 

Learn the what, why and how of referencing in the Reference and cite effectively and correctly section (under The assignment process).

Check out a wide range of on-demand workshops, including Referencing Essentials and APA style. Created by Academic Success and Library.

Talk over an assignment with the Academic Success team or submit your writing to Studiosity.

Find out about Library resources and services:

 

Talk over an assignment with the Academic Success team or submit your writing to Studiosity: