This page has been created to provide information about reported issues and other technical issues to do with e-resources such as databases, eBooks and eJournals.
Please refer to the box below related to your problem:
1. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly. This ensures you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
2. The database URL may have changed. Please try accessing the database via MultiSearch.
3. If you are accessing the site from off campus via a link eg from a course website, search engine or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - https://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.
1. The database URL may have changed. Please try accessing the database via MultiSearch.
2. If you are being asked to enter a password for a specific database (ie not a Macquarie University login page) the database may require a separate password. Check the details tab on the MultiSearch record to see if you are required to contact library staff for access.
3. If you are off campus you should also check the following:
4. The Library may not have access to the resource. Check MultiSearch for the name of the database or name of the publication to see if the Library has access.
1. Check your login is working correctly. Can you login to other databases and/or university sites (eg iLearn)? If not, please go to the OneID site or contact IT Service Desk to ensure your login is working.
2. If you are able to login to university sites but are not able to access databases, please contact the Library.
3. If the error is "Your account is limited to 1 session. This limit has been exceeded." Please check you are not signed in already in a different browser or device. You are only allowed to be signed in on one browser on one ​device at a time. If you believe you are only signed in at one location please contact IT Service Desk.
3. Contact your system administrator or network officer to determine if these can be changed.
1. Databases may provide access for mobile devices in a variety of ways:
2. To access a mobile database you may need to:
Still experiencing trouble with databases?
1. Try closing your web browser and re-opening it ie close your Microsoft Edge program and load it again. Sometimes there are problems at the database provider end. If it is taking a while to log in close your browser, then try again. You may need to log off and try again in 5 minutes.
2. Test the page using another browser eg Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Safari or Opera. Some browsers have difficulty displaying some pages or provide different functionality.
3. Check the system requirements for the database. This information is usually found in the Help section of a database and includes information about supported browsers, javascript and cookie requirements, and other technical data that may apply.
4. Check you are using the current version of your web browser. To find which version you are using follow these steps from the menu bar:
5. Check the security settings in your web browser. Some of our databases require medium to low levels of security, and low levels of privacy. Recommended security settings for different web browser versions are freely available on the Internet.
Note: You will need to ensure that you have a current virus scanning program loaded on your computer. If you do not have antivirus software, Sophos is provided by ITD for staff and student use on the Software Downloads page (login required).
6. Cookies must be enabled to use the Library web site. Instructions for enabling cookies are freely available on the internet.
7. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly. This ensures you are logging into the current database, not an old version. If you are using a database from your workplace, you may experience issues. Some organisations have strict network security settings which cannot be modified. Contact your system administrator or network officer to determine if these can be changed.
8. If you are trying to access a database on a mobile device it may not display correctly. Check to see if the database has a mobile version by checking the Help pages for the database.
1. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly, to ensure you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
2. You may be using outdated software. To find which version you are using go to Help on the menu bar and select About [program name]. This will tell you the version of the product.
You can download the latest software versions from the links below:
Web browsers:
Other useful software:
1. If you did not login from a Macquarie University Library login page you may not be able to access articles or eBooks in a database.
2. If you are accessing the site off campus via a link eg from a course website or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - http://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.
Still experiencing trouble with databases?
1. Check that you can open other PDF files. If you are able to open other PDF files, check whether there is any information about problems opening PDF files in the Help section for the database you are using.
2. Check you have the most current version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. To find which version you are using,open Adobe Acrobat Reader and on the menu bar go to Help and select About Adobe Reader (version xx). The most current version of the software can be downloaded from the Adobe Reader website.
3. Test the page using another browser eg Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Safari (Mac, iOS) or Opera. Some browsers have difficulty displaying some pages or provide different functionality.
4. Try saving the file by right clicking on the link to the file and choosing Save Target As (ME) or Copy Link Location (Firefox) from the menu and then save the file to your chosen location. Then try opening the file from the location where you saved it.
5. You can find further assistance with problems opening PDF files:
6. Cookies must be enabled to open articles from most Library databases. Instructions for enabling web cookies:
7. Clear your browser cache. You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly, to ensure you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
1. Databases may provide access for mobile devices:
2. Check if the database provides access using mobile devices by going to the database help page.
3. Access can be provided through a number of ways:
2. Try to access the database again later. If this happens continuously, please contact the Library.
1. This database or resource may have a limit on the number of users who can use it simultaneously and we have reached the maximum number of people who can login at one time. Check the database description to see limits on concurrent users.
2. Try to access the database again later. If this happens continuously, please contact the Library.
1. Check the Journal by Title page to see if Macquarie University Library has access to the journal and if it is available for the date you require.
2. If you are accessing the site off campus via a link - eg from a course website or email, check that the URL has the following extension at the front - https://simsrad.net.ocs.mq.edu.au/login?url=. You need this part of the URL to login.
Still experiencing trouble with databases?
Please Note: Access to the majority of Library e-resources off campus is restricted to current staff and students.
Members of the public are only able to access a limited amount of e-resources within the Library building.
Alumni members have access to selected e-resources externally. For more information see the link below: