Logging into MultiSearch is the best way to access and search our collections, but, if you are interested in or require an alternative method of access, see the comparison tables below.
The best method for accessing Library subscribed content when off campus varies depending on the context. For a succinct outline of the different retrieval methods, see the table below:
|
Access Options |
What is it for? |
Compatible browsers / operating systems? |
Features PDF cloud storage? | Requires an account or login? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Access via Macquarie Bookmarklet |
Adds the simsrad prefix to your current browser URL, enabling you to access a resource that the Library has subscribed to but which still prompts you to pay a fee to download/view the content | Android, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, iOS, Safari |  |
Your MQ OneID |
|
Australian Access Federation |
Offers direct login access to resources and services on specific publisher websites | Android, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, iOS, Safari... | |
Your MQ OneID |
|
Google Scholar CASA |
Enables you to take MQ Library subscriptions off campus without having to use a VPN or other authentication service | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari |  |
Your Google account |
|
Google Scholar Library Link |
Facilitates access to full-text articles through the Library's database subscriptions | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari | |
Your Google account |
|
Macquarie University VPN |
Allows approved staff and students to connect to the University network from any place in the world | Chrome, Firefox | |
Your MQ OneID |
|
E-resource Access |
A useful guide, should you encounter any problems accessing our e-resources | Android, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, iOS, Safari | |
|
The best method for accessing Library subscribed content when off campus varies depending on the context. For a succinct outline of the relevant apps and extensions, see the table below:
|
Access Option |
What is it for? |
Compatible browsers / operating systems? |
Features PDF cloud storage? | Requires an account or login? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
BrowZine |
Brings journal articles to your computer, tablet, or smartphone | Android, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, iOS, Safari | |
Your MQ OneID |
|
EBSCOhost Passport |
Makes research simpler by scanning the web page for DOIs, then checking if the user has access to the article either in an EBSCOhost full text database or through Open Access | Chrome, Edge | |
Your MQ OneID |
|
EndNote Click |
Helps you retrieve full-text journal articles from the Library's subscriptions in addition to Open Access content - both on and off campus | Chrome, Edge, Firefox | |
Your EndNote or EndNote Click account |
|
Google Scholar Button |
Enables easy access to full-text articles from any web page | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari | |
Your Google account |
|
LibKey Normad |
Provides one-click access to journals subscribed to by the Library, Open Access resources, and other literature featured on the web |
Chrome, Edge, Firefox |
|
|
 |
The libMQ mobile platform can help you: search and access resources via MultiSearch; access MyLibrary to check and renew loans, monitor requests, and retrieve fine/fee information; navigate the Library and discover integral locations; book a study space. | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, iOS, Safari... |  |
Your MQ OneID |
|
Mendeley Web Importer |
Automatically retrieves bibliographic data and full-text PDFs for you to add to your Mendeley Library |
Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari | |
Your Mendeley account |
|
Open Access Button |
Enables you to download research outputs that are distributed online, free of charge | Chrome, Firefox | |
|
|
Unpaywall |
Allows you to download millions of free scholarly articles from publishers, universities, governmental agencies, and other service providers | Chrome, Firefox | |
|
