Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20 for Mac

Exporting citations directly from online databases

In most databases, you can directly export references into your EndNote Library.

Direct export option varies from database to database. Some allows only single record export while others allows select and export multiple records into your EndNote Library. 

To select and export multiple records:

  • Conduct a search, and select the records you wish to export.
  • Go to your Selected Items, they may be in a Marked Items section or a Temporary Folder.
  • Select a Direct Export function, and choose EndNote Desktop or RIS format (EndNote).
  • Follow the prompts on your browser to export the records into EndNote.
  • The records will now appear in the Imported References folder of your Endnote Library.
  • It's a good idea to check your references for any errors and edit if necessary.

‚ÄčDirect export is available from a number of databases including EBSCOhost, Informit, JSTOR, Ovid, ProQuest, ScienceDirect, Scopus, Web of Science, Sage journals, Google Scholar.

Watch: EndNote 20 (Windows) Direct Export from PubMed.gov

This is an EndNote Training production published on 3 Nov 2020.  The video capture new references found through database searches that you perform via a web browser. This video-only walkthrough covers the Direct Export process found within the new PubMed.gov website.

FAQs about direct export not available?

                            Q. How can I add citations to EndNote if direct export is not available?

A. You can:

  • Enter references manually 
  • Use an Import filter 
  • Find the reference using Google Scholar and import from there.
  • Import from a PDF

Watch: EndNote 20 (Windows) Direct Export from Web of Science

These are the EndNote Training production published on 3Nov, 2020. 

The videos capture new references found through database searches that you perform via a web browser. This video-only walkthrough covers the Direct Export process found within the new Web of Science and the classic Web of Science.