Skip to Main Content

Media, Communication, Creative Arts, Language & Literature

fiction;language;media;european languages;radio;movies;literature;news and current affairs;music;vocal studies documentary;asian languages;cinema;communication;screenwriting;dance;screen writing;poetry;languages;television;gender studies;screen production

Databases

Specialist
Generalist

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline
sometimes cross disciplinary

Dance online: dance in video This link opens in a new window
Covers ballet, tap , jazz, contemporarary as well as the pioneers of modern concert dance.
International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text This link opens in a new window
Covers some leading journals in the field, and some full scripts of plays and opera librettos.

Bloomsbury Video Library
Content ranges from filmed performances and fiction films to documentaries and instructional videos.

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window

Key search terms

Searches can couple a specific term with one of the general terms. For instance, dance AND "creative practice"
the AND in capitals will link the concepts for more refined results.

Specific	performing artists; embodiment; aerial circus; strength training; stunt; dance; performing arts; entertainers; circuses; modern dance; choreography; mobility; performance art; identity
Useful general terms	social research; training; cultural studies; analysis; experience; creative process; creative practice

Websites

Journals

Browzine
Using Browzine

Browse the Library's journal subscriptions. You can:

browse journals by subject and review tables of contents
download full articles
link to specific "shelves" of content and add journals to your personal bookshelf
be notified when new articles are published
save articles for off-line reading

Please note that not all Journals are in Browzine.

Browzine This link opens in a new window

Guide to Browzine

Useful guides

See further useful links on the Homepage.

All databases for dance and performance

Special digital collections

Sidetrack theatre collection
This collection contains records and digital resources developed by Mark Seton and Tom Burvill, Dept of Critical and Cultural Studies, Macquarie University, of original records from the Sidetrack Performance Group Archive. These records and digital resources were created with the assistance of a LIEF grant from the Australian Research Council.

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2024 11:30 AM
URL: https://libguides.mq.edu.au/MCCALL
Print Page

Subjects: Subject resources : Arts