Subject and Research Guides: Media, Communication, Creative Arts, Language &amp; Literature: Literature, Writing, Poetry

Databases

Databases are:

collections of information, and can include journal and newspaper articles, as well as audio visual, books, conference proceedings and more.
often specialised in a specific topic or discipline
sometimes cross disciplinary

Austlit This link opens in a new window
Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. Includes critical articles and creative writing.

Cambridge core: Literature after 1945
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Features authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Some include biographies, plot summaries, reviews, interviews, and more.
Australasian Literature Online: Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands This link opens in a new window
Fiction and poetry works and includes post colonial studies, immigration studies, social studies and anthropology.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is an open access knowledge hub and information service providing easy access to policy and practice research and resources.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides full text access to news items from a wide range of international sources and key websites.

APAFT
"Australian Public Affairs full text"
Journal articles from the social sciences and humanities. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia. This database contains current and historical social & economic data for Australia, Census figures and access to all ABS publications from 1998 onwards.

Miles Franklin literary awards
This collection contains titles, from the Macquarie University Library collection, that have either won, or been shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award.
The Children's Book Council of Australia picture book of the year awards
This collection contains titles, from the Macquarie University Library collection, that have either won, or been shortlisted for the Children's Book Council of Australia Picture Book of the Year.

For instance,"Australian short stories" AND "literary theory"

Specific	Australian fiction; Aboriginal authors; Australian literature; Authors Australian; Australian essays; Novelists Australian
General	debate; analysis; discourse; criticism and interpretation; philosophy; reflection; literary theory; writers

For searches, it can be useful combining a specific term with a general one. For instance:

postmodernism AND discourse

Specific	English literature 20th century; modernism literature; postmodernism literature; writers; critical theory fiction
Useful general terms	analysis; discourse; criticism and interpretation; reflection; literary theory

For instance "children's literature" AND discourse

"Dorothy Sayers" AND philosophy

The AND in capitals will link the concepts for more refined results. Using the inverted comma's around a phrase will give you more precise results.

Specific	young adult fiction; juvenile fiction; children's stories; children's literature; youth fiction; pictorial works; treatment of female characters
General	criticism and interpretation; debate; analysis; philosophy; history and critcism

For searches, combining a specific with an area of exploration can be effective.

For instance "gothic fiction" AND Canada

modernism AND "science fiction"

The AND in capitals will link the concepts for more refined results. Using the inverted comma's around a phrase will give you more precise results.

Gothic	Modernist	Renaissance	Victorian
Gothic conventions	English fiction 20th century	Literature medieval	Victorian period
Horror tales	Modernism	Middle English 1100-1550	English literature 19th century
Penny dreadfuls	Popular culture art and society	European literature
English literature 18th century	1918-1945 fiction
Gothic fiction	Popular culture 20th century

Browse the Library's journal subscriptions. You can:

browse journals by subject and review tables of contents
download full articles
link to specific "shelves" of content and add journals to your personal bookshelf
be notified when new articles are published
save articles for off-line reading

Please note that not all Journals are in Browzine.

See further useful links on the Homepage.